52 Weeks of Life Seen Through My Eyes

Ida's Photo Theme Challenge

16. Group Portraits

19 Comments

Already weeks behind in this challenge, it’s time to play a little catch up. I decided people portraiture was not something I was particularly excited about. I looked through some recently snapped photos, only to discover a couple of group shots that would suffice for this theme.
Once again, my husband and I were at Playa Barqueta, Las Olas, when we noticed a wake of vultures gathered on the beach just beyond the sea oats. I tried sneaking up as close as possible…my zoom is not really effective…and was only allowed to snap a few photos before the kettle of vultures took flight, spooked by my presence. Having taken off to escape “shooting” humans, I went to investigate what had attracted these scavengers. The smell that wafted on the ocean breeze was not exactly pleasant. So, covering my nose, I ventured further down the path and found the carcass of a small dolphin. I was saddened to discover the reason for the gathering.
Since I chose vultures as my subject for “Group Portraits”, the handful I spotted on a very rainy drive back from the beach had to be included. This final photo was taken while standing in the rain on the side of a very narrow road. Unfortunately, the moment I moved to change the angle, those vultures were gone.

IMG_6549

IMG_6550

IMG_6552

IMG_6798

19 thoughts on “16. Group Portraits

  1. There went my answer to that challenge :-D. We’ve had a “fish kill” in our pond and the backyard has been inundated with vultures. At least we don’t have to put up with the smell of the decaying fish.

    Great idea for your response to the challenge. Our minds work alike. I think this is the second time that we’ve had the same idea.

    Like

  2. LOL That is funny, George! I just had to come up with something and this was it. I can tell you we had to keep a very low profile…literally…in the pool that day in order to avoid the smell that drifted our way every now and then. 🙂

    Like

  3. Hey, you have to do what you have to do to get that perfect shot for the theme, don’t you, Ida? Aside from them being vultures, I like the last photo.

    Like

    • You would have laughed and chased away the vultures if you had seen me crouching low to the ground trying to hide behind the sea oats. For one of my first posts last year, Paul held an umbrella while I took photos; not this time. lol

      Like

  4. Circle of life and all that but sad 😦
    I like the last photo too – with the mist in the background!

    Like

  5. Very clever of you to think of this theme for this shot. I too was a little sad for the reason behind the gathering but that is part of life.

    Like

  6. Great interpretation, my favorite is the last one. 🙂

    Like

  7. Love the creativity of the interpretation. I’m with the rest of the group, the last one is my fav too.

    Like

  8. Great photos — the last one especially. Great interpretation!

    Like

  9. Clever idea, Ida! Love them all sitting on their poles in the last one!

    Like

  10. Very creative Ida. 🙂

    Like

  11. I lose this competition – I prefer the first ! Mainly because I like the colours but very obliging of the vultures to pose on the posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

